Glossybox Bergdorf Goodman Edition Review

Thanks to my new addiction to subscription boxes I have a checklist of boxes I would like to try. I have read really good things about Glossybox (apart from their apparently bad shipping issues) and was so excited to finally be able to try it out! What made me finally take the leap? I jumped on this box for a couple of reasons. I started my Glossybox subscription because of the collaboration with Bergdorf Goodman, the promise of a $25 gift card for BG and because ipsy put me on a wait list. That put me in a really bad mood! I read horror stories of people being on that wait list forever. Talk about torture! I ended up being able to skip the wait list early, you can read about that here.

In any case let’s get this unboxing started! I got an email from Glossybox when my package had shipped and I was able to track it on its journey to me (yes, I did click it a lot!) which was nice. It took about 4 days to get to me because of the long weekend but that was understandable.

My Glossybox came shipped  in a really cute black and pink branded box which unfortunately got torn open by my very helpful husband before I could take a picture, but here is the best part!

B1

B2

Now from all the reviews that I have seen for Glossybox the actual box is usually pink but since this is a special collaboration with Bergdorf Goodman it is a really pretty purple with Bergdorf Goodman insignia. This is the first look inside:

B3

The information card has the $25 gift card code in the back for Bergdorf Goodman so in case you miss their notice in the front make sure you don’t toss this out before using it! The gift card expires June 5, 2014 so hurry!

B4

This is the variation of the box that I received:

B5

First thoughts on the products received:

Napoleon Perdis Auto Pilot Pre-Foundation Skin Primer– This is the black and gold deluxe sample in the picture above. The label says that it is a “hydrating primer to help makeup sync in with your skin”. I am currently using Hourglass N 28 Primer Serum but am really looking forward to trying this out. I have combination skin and get really dry on the bottom half of my face, I am hoping that this will work well with my Hourglass foundation. I secretly hope I fall in love with this once because the full size is $45 compared to $65 for my Hourglass!

Revive Intensite Volumizing Eye Serum– I recently got a Revive deluxe sample in my Nina Garcia Quarterly box which I am absolutely loving so I can not wait to try this out! I am 24 and have heard that the best way to keep your skin healthy is to start your anti-aging regime as soon as possible. All of my subscriptions are definitely helping me build up a strong arsenal. But at *gulp* $350 for the full size of this product I hope that I keep getting the samples in my boxes! There is no way I can justify that right now. We’ll revisit the need in a few years.

Alterna CAVIAR CC Cream– I can’t wait till hair wash day! I need to see what all the fuss is about here. I keep hearing that CC Creams are the best thing invented yet for hair care and feel completely out of the loop since I have yet to try it. This will be my first taste! I  have very very long hair but thankfully it is not too thick so this sample should be enough. I will be using the entire bottle, I wish they had sent me two of these :p At just $25 for the full size, I can afford to fall in love with this one.

Atelier Cologne Rose Anonyme Cologne Absolute– Who doesn’t love mini cologne bottles?! I have always wanted a vanity desk filled with them. Maybe one day! For now this is another bottle for the collection. The scent is strong but not overpowering, it is overly feminine either. It is subtle and sexy. This will be a nice scent to sport to switch things up from my usual perfumes. The full size bottle of this is $140. It is a nice scent but I don’t see myself getting this in a full size anytime soon.

Lancer Eye Contour Lifting Cream– “It helps diminish the appearance of fine lines, crow’s feet, puffiness and dark circles around eyes”. Well, this product isn’t really going to help me on a daily basis. I suppose I could try it out after a long sleepless night to help with the puffiness but this most likely will get passed on to my mom. This product wasn’t a thrill for me to find in my box as I can’t really use it.

Iluminage Skin Prep Gentle Cleanser– I have never heard of the brand before but I am always up to trying a new cleanser! “This gentle cleanser helps clear skin of makeup and all traces of impurities that just seem to find your face throughout the day” oh yeah this will be getting used and quickly. I will be using this with my Clarisonic Aria and can’t wait to see how clean this will get me. The full sized product is $25 which is on the higher end for a cleaner, so unless it is amazing I probably won’t be getting this.

B6

This is the actual deluxe sample inside the Lancer Eye Contour Lifting Cream box:

B7

And here is the actual deluxe sample of the Atelier Cologne Rose Anonyme Cologne Absolute:

B8

For $21 since this was a regular box and not a special edition I definitely think that the value is there! The $25 gift card alone is worth more than the box and I am really excited about all of the items that I received. While they are all deluxe samples and nothing is full sized, I really like that this box gives you the opportunity to test out high end cosmetics, skin care and cologne all for a very affordable price. Now if you absolutely fall in love with one of the products you might have to shell out some serious money for the full size! Proceed with caution haha.

Overall I think this was a great box, it had a nice range of items to try and I will be able to use most of the items. Who knows I may even be using the $25 Bergdorf Goodman gift card towards a full sized version of the sample!

Do you subscribe to Glossybox? What did you think about this month’s box?

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a comment